• Managing Sustainable Innovations

    Success factors for innovation management in the context of sustainability transformation

    International Benchmarking Study

    Managing Sustainable Innovations

    Success factors for innovation management in the context of sustainability transformation

    International Benchmarking Study

Vielen Dank für die zahlreiche Teilnahme an der Fragebogenstudie. Diese wurde erfolgreich am 31.07.2023 geschlossen. Alle Teilnehmenden haben Anfang September eine individuelle Auswertung per E-Mail erhalten. Sollten Sie teilgenommen, aber keine Auswertung vorliegen haben, sprechen Sie uns gerne an!

We congratulate the five selected Successful Practice companies and look forward to the company visits and the associated exchange in the near future!

Objective

Which methods are relevant for the development of sustainable products? How can digitalization help to reduce the ecological footprint? What roles and competencies are required for sustainability-oriented innovation management? How can sustainability be anchored in corporate culture? More than ever, these exemplary questions embody challenges that the manufacturing industry faces in the context of sustainable innovations. The management of sustainable innovations plays a key role in answering these questions.

Therefore, we, the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University and the Complexity Management Academy, in cooperation with an industry consortium, would like to identify successful and proven best practices for the management of sustainable innovations. The focus is on a holistic view of the company, with the emphasis on strategy, product, process and organization, under the reference of the finace, environment, social and governance targets. Use the benchmarking study “Managing Sustainable Innovations" to examine your own approach, to gain further impulses and find out about successful approaches based on the study results.

We look forward to your participation! Please use the button on the top of the page.

Timeline

The benchmarking study will be conducted over a period of 10 months. During the initial screening phase data is captured in a global context based on a questionnaire. In collaboration with our industrial and scientific expert network, promising approaches are further analyzed via case studies with the respective participants of the study. As part of the evaluation phase, the returned questionnaires are analyzed while all participants are provided with an individual positioning within the overall study results. Adhering to the overall motto “Learn from the best”, best-practices are shared across the successful-practice-companies and the consortium in the course of five company visits.



Scope

Shown below is the scope of the international benchmarking study. The areas serve to structure the topic and enable a target-oriented discussion within the project.



Industrial Consortium

Partner

The VDMA is a partner of the Benchmarking Study.

References

"In the KBM "Agile Product Development", we were able to discuss our own status quo across industries and gain numerous insights into best practices via the study. This approach was of major benefit to us."

(Head of Project and Process Management Vaillant Group)

 

The Complexity Management Academy is conducting the benchmarking study “Managing Sustainable Innovations" together with the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) at RWTH Aachen University, thus continuing a series of successfully completed benchmarking studies of this kind. Our industry customers appreciate our professional project management in addition to our well-founded technical and methodological expertise.

Successful consortium benchmarking studies of the past years:



Artificial intelligence in R&D (2018)

The benchmarking study examined how AI is used in companies R&D work and where it is already finding its way into new products. Over 200 companies provided responses on four central AI topics in R&D. In addition to identifying new service offerings through the application of AI in the product portfolio, possible applications for optimizing internal R&D processes are queried. Furthermore, the companies provided information on organizational and technological prerequisites for the successful integration of AI in R&D.

 

Consortium partner

The consortium consisted of 24 companies from various industries and company sizes with companies such as Covestro, Miele, ZF, Endress + Hauser, and many more.

 

Successful practice companies

ABB, Airbus, Dürr Systems, Wacker Chemie, 3M Germany

Agile Product Development (2019)

The thematic focus of the benchmarking study "Agile Product Development" was to identify success factors for the agile development of physical products. Within the framework of this benchmarking study, systematic, generally applicable and targeted solution approaches for the application of agile methods in the product development of manufacturing companies were derived along the six central topics of the framework "Organization", "Methods" and "Tools", "Infrastructure", "Prototyping", "Process" and "Culture and Mindset".

Consortium partners

16 consortium partners, such as Bosch, Mahle, Swarovski, Schaeffler or Roche, from different industries and different company sizes formed the consortium.

Successful practice companies

Claas, ASML, Philips Healthcare, Trumpf, Continental

Click here for past KBM studies

Agile Product Development
Agile Product Development

Industry 4.0 in R&D
Industry 4.0 in R&D

Artificial intelligence in R&D
Artificial intelligence in R&D

Market Intelligence
Market Intelligence

Success Factors in Product and Portfoliomanagement
Success Factors in Product and Portfoliomanagement

Product Lifecycle Management
Product Lifecycle Management

Digital Product Development
Digital Product Development

Your contact persons

Christina Ruschitzka, M.Sc.
Project lead
Complexity Management Academy GmbH
Phone: +49 (0) 151 515 695 58

Email: christina.ruschitzka@complexity-academy.com

 



Sven Schümmelfeder, M.Sc.
Project team member
Complexity Management Academy GmbH
Phone: +49  (0) 151 23335236

Email: sven.schuemmelfeder@complexity-academy.com

 



Nikolai Kelbel, M.Sc.
Project team member
Complexity Management Academy GmbH
Phone: +49 (0) 15143190382

Email: nikolai.kelbel@complexity-academy.com

 



Alexander Keuper, M.Sc.
Geschäftsführer

Complexity Management Academy GmbH
Mobil: +49 (0) 151 43115499

E-Mail: alexander.keuper@complexity-academy.com

 

 



Downloads

This website is using cookies to provide a good browsing experience.

These include essential cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as others that are used only for anonymous statistical purposes, for comfort settings or to display personalized content. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Please note that based on your settings, not all functions of the website may be available.

This website is using cookies to provide a good browsing experience.

These include essential cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as others that are used only for anonymous statistical purposes, for comfort settings or to display personalized content. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Please note that based on your settings, not all functions of the website may be available.

Your cookie preferences have been saved.

• Managing Sustainable Innovations

    Erfolgsfaktoren für das Innovationsmanagement im Kontext der Nachhaltigkeitswende

    Konsortial-Benchmarking Studie

    Managing Sustainable Innovations

    Erfolgsfaktoren für das Innovationsmanagement im Kontext der Nachhaltigkeitswende

    Konsortial-Benchmarking Studie

Vielen Dank für die zahlreiche Teilnahme an der Fragebogenstudie. Diese wurde erfolgreich am 31.07.2023 geschlossen. Alle Teilnehmenden haben Anfang September eine individuelle Auswertung per E-Mail erhalten. Sollten Sie teilgenommen, aber keine Auswertung vorliegen haben, sprechen Sie uns gerne an!

Wir gratulieren den fünf gewählten Successful-Practice-Unternehmen und freuen uns auf die baldigen Unternehmensbesuche und den damit verbundenen Austausch!

Ziel

Welche Methoden sind für die Entwicklung nachhaltiger Produkte relevant? Wie kann die Digitalisierung dazu beitragen, den ökologischen Fußabdruck zu reduzieren? Welche Rollen und Kompetenzen sind für ein Management nachhaltiger Innovationen erforderlich? Wie kann Nachhaltigkeit in der Unternehmenskultur verankert werden? Mehr denn je verkörpern diese exemplarischen Fragestellungen Herausforderungen mit denen sich die produzierende Industrie im Kontext von nachhaltigen Innovationen konfrontiert sieht. Zur Beantwortung dieser Fragestellungen nimmt das Management nachhaltiger Innovationen eine Schlüsselrolle ein.

Daher möchten wir, das Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen und die Complexity Management Academy, in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Industriekonsortium erfolgreiche und praxiserprobte Best-Practices für das Management nachhaltiger Innovationen identifizieren. Dabei steht eine ganzheitliche Betrachtung des Unternehmens, mit den Schwerpunkten Strategie, Produkt, Prozess und Organisation, unter dem Fokus der Nachhaltigkeitsziele Finace, Environment, Social und Governance im Fokus. Nutzen Sie die Benchmarking Studie „Managing Sustainable Innovationszur Prüfung Ihres eigenen Vorgehens, um weitere Impulse zu erhalten und informieren Sie sich anhand der Studienergebnisse über erfolgreiche Ansätze.

Über Ihre Teilnahme freuen wir uns sehr! Nutzen Sie hierzu gerne den Button im Titelbereich.

Projektplan

Die Benchmarking Studie ist auf ca. 10 Monate ausgelegt und startet mit einer Screening Phase, welche das Ziel einer umfassenden Datenaufnahme im internationalen Umfeld auf Basis eines Fragebogens verfolgt. Mit Hilfe unseres Expertennetzwerks aus Industrie und Wissenschaft werden die Rückläufer analysiert sowie erfolgversprechende Ansätze durch Fallstudien mit den entsprechenden Studienteilnehmenden vertiefend beleuchtet. In dieser Phase erhalten alle Studienteilnehmenden eine Auswertung der relativen Positionierung des eigenen Unternehmens im Vergleich zu den erfolgreichsten teilnehmenden Unternehmen der Studie. Abschließend werden fünf Successful-Practice-Unternehmen von dem Industriekonsortium sowie den weiteren Successful-Practice-Unternehmen gemäß dem Motto „Lernen von den Besten“ besucht.



Themenschwerpunkte

Nachfolgend finden Sie die Themenfelder des Konsortial-Benchmarkings. Diese dienen dazu, die Thematik zu strukturieren und eine zielgerichtete Diskussion im Rahmen der Studie zu ermöglichen:



Industriekonsortium

Partner

Der VDMA ist Partner der Benchmarking-Studie.

Referenzen

„Im KBM „Agile Product Development“ konnten wir unseren eigenen Status quo branchenübergreifend diskutieren und über die Studie zahlreiche Einblicke in Best Practices bekommen. Diese Vorgehensweise hatte für uns einen hohen Mehrwert.“

(Leiter Projekt- und Prozessmanagement Vaillant Group)

 

Die Complexity Management Academy führt die Konsortial-Benchmarking Studie „Managing Sustainable Innovations" gemeinsam mit dem Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen durch und knüpft damit an eine Reihe bereits erfolgreich abgeschlossener Benchmarking-Projekte dieser Art an. Unsere Kund*innen aus der Industrie wissen dabei neben fundierter Fach- und Methodenkenntnis vor allem die professionelle Projektabwicklung zu schätzen.

Erfolgreiche Konsortial-Benchmarking-Studien der vergangenen Jahre:



Künstliche Intelligenz in der F&E (2018)

Die Studie untersuchte, wie KI in der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit von Unternehmen genutzt wird und wo sie bereits Eingang in neue Produkte findet. Über detaillierte schriftliche Fragebögen gaben über 200 Unternehmen Antworten zu vier zentralen Themenfeldern der KI in der F&E. Neben der Identifikation von neuen Leistungsangeboten durch die Applikation von KI im Produktportfolio wurden Anwendungsmöglichkeiten zur Optimierung der internen F&E-Prozesse abgefragt. Zudem gaben die Unternehmen Auskunft zu organisatorischen sowie technologischen Voraussetzungen einer erfolgreichen Integration Künstlicher Intelligenz in der F&E.

Konsortialpartner

Das Konsortium bestand aus 24 Unternehmen verschiedener Branchen und Unternehmensgröße mit Unternehmen, wie Covestro, Miele, ZF, Endress + Hauser,  u.v.m.

Successful-Practice-Unternehmen

ABB, Airbus, Dürr Systems, Wacker Chemie, 3M Deutschland

Agile Product Development (2019)

Thematischer Schwerpunkt des Konsortial-Benchmarkings „Agile Product Development“ war es, Erfolgsfaktoren für die agile Entwicklung physischer Produkte zu identifizieren. Im Rahmen dieser Benchmarking-Studie wurden systematische, allgemeingültige und zielgerichtete Lösungsansätze für die Anwendung agiler Methoden in der Produktenwicklung produzierender Unternehmen entlang der Felder Organisation, Methoden und Werkzeuge, Infrastruktur, Prototyping, Prozess sowie Kultur und Mindset abgeleitet.

Konsortialpartner

16 Konsortialpartner, wie Bosch, Mahle, Swarovski, Schaeffler oder Roche, aus verschiedenen Branchen und unterschiedlichen Unternehmensgrößen bildeten das Konsortium.

Successful-Practice-Unternehmen

Claas, ASML, Philips Healthcare, Trumpf, Continental

Hier gelangen Sie zu den vergangenen KBM-Studien

Agile Product Development
Agile Product Development

Industrie 4.0 in der F&E
Industrie 4.0 in der F&E

Künstliche Intelligenz in der F&E
Künstliche Intelligenz in der F&E

Market Intelligence
Market Intelligence

Erfolgsfaktoren im Produkt- und Portfoliomanagement
Erfolgsfaktoren im Produkt- und Portfoliomanagement

Product Lifecycle Management
Product Lifecycle Management

Digital Product Development
Digital Product Development

Ihre Ansprechpartner*innen

Christina Ruschitzka, M.Sc.
Projektleiterin
Complexity Management Academy GmbH
Mobil: +49 (0) 151 515 695 58

Email: christina.ruschitzka@complexity-academy.com

 



Sven Schümmelfeder, M.Sc.
Mitglied des Projektteams
Complexity Management Academy GmbH
Mobil: +49  (0) 151 23335236

Email: sven.schuemmelfeder@complexity-academy.com

 



Nikolai Kelbel, M.Sc.
Mitglied des Projektteams
Complexity Management Academy GmbH
Mobil: +49 (0) 15143190382

Email: nikolai.kelbel@complexity-academy.com

 



Alexander Keuper, M.Sc.
Geschäftsführer

Complexity Management Academy GmbH
Mobil: +49 (0) 151 43115499

E-Mail: alexander.keuper@complexity-academy.com

 

 



Downloads

Diese Website nutzt Cookies, um bestmögliche Funktionalität bieten zu können.

Dazu gehören wesentliche Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Website erforderlich sind, sowie andere, die nur für anonyme statistische Zwecke, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte verwendet werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass aufgrund Ihrer Einstellungen möglicherweise nicht alle Funktionen der Website zur Verfügung stehen.

Diese Website nutzt Cookies, um bestmögliche Funktionalität bieten zu können.

Dazu gehören wesentliche Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Website erforderlich sind, sowie andere, die nur für anonyme statistische Zwecke, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte verwendet werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass aufgrund Ihrer Einstellungen möglicherweise nicht alle Funktionen der Website zur Verfügung stehen.

Ihre Auswahl wurde gesichert.